I’ve just returned from eating at this popular family-owned Korean joint in town, MaMa’s Korean Restaurant.  The food was yummy, but honestly being non-Korean I can’t be the best person to critique it can I?  I don’t know what “bad” Korean food is so we’re just gonna go with saying that this place fed me really good Korean food.  There are  tables with a barbeque pit in the middle for grilling Korean BBQ, so you can play and cook your food a la The Melting Pot.

The service is a bit slow and it felt like MaMa was the only one running this place. But the extra time allowed me to people watch- left and right of us were Koreans, so that automatically is a good sign.  They were chomping on their ribs and cutting up their meat with scissors (yeah, scissors), and their plates of meat were literally neverending- once they finished one plate, MaMa came out and filled it with another mountain of raw ribs. We’re thinking:  daayuum MaMa hooks you upp!

Our plate of meat arrives, and instead of a mountain of red meat it was more like a plateau. Thinking that there’s more to come, we wait another ten minutes for the rest of our mountain- but the mountain never came.  I sniffed the air and knew something was up, I looked around at the Koreans’ tables and then looked at a white couple eating a few tables near us. Verdict:  Gasp! MaMa is a non-Korean hater!

The Korean tables were getting more meat and different sides, and they even get to finish their meal with what looks to be a refreshing cup of Korean drink.  The dessert drink never served to us of course, which made me want it even more.

So m’dear MaMa, you serve beautiful Korean food that everyone wants to try.  At least share with your fellow-Asians and  be selective with non-Asians (I kid, but not really).  I understand it’s difficult to think of me as your kind when I have a brown dude following me everywhere, but I promise he will eat any kind of meat in front of him. We will sing your good praises, MaMa.

8867 Pendleton Pike

Indianapolis 46226

