The Indy restaurant scene can sometimes feel like a fake Birkin bag.  There’s a huge effort to be creative and high-end (ahem 14 West) , but ultimately it ends up tasting like the repetitive factory-spun food we can get in any city.

And then there’s that once-in-a-blue-moon moment you taste something that gives you hope;  Something that’s so inspiring and uplifting you just want to slap your mother.

This moment for me was Tortas Guicho, which serves Mexican sandwiches, known as street food.  Now, I’ve had Rick Bayless XOCO’s’ and I’ve had these.  Trust me when I say this:  I may not be Mexican, but I’ve been mistaken for being Mexican once or twice and I’d rather eat these tortas any day.  The difference comes down to the bread (more of a challah texture, which soaks up the juices better) and variety of meats (jamon, chorizo, ham, chicken breasts, etc).  And top it off, wash all of this down with a refreshing Mexican soda, corn-syrup free!

And now just waiting for the next blue moon…

Tortas Guicho Dominguez y El Cubanito
641 Virginia Ave Indianapolis, IN 46203
(317) 658-0735

